Duckling #1 starts a new day

mallard duckling hatched

Our brand new duckling, waiting to come out of the incubator

Our brand new duckling came out of the incubator this morning. I put him in the temporary brooder, and he crawled under the heating plate, seemingly completely exhausted, and slept soundly for the next few hours.

Anyway things were going swimmingly and I was beginning to think everything was going to be easy peasy, until he woke up and decided I was his Mommy and now won’t leave me alone!

If I so much as walk away from his box, he panics and tries to jump out and run after me, squeaking and peeping as loud as he can. If I left him alone, he would probably throw himself against the side of the box till he hurt himself or worse. So now I have to carry him everywhere and let him sleep on my tummy with his head in my hand before he will shut up, calm down and keep still.

Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

