Rockin’ and Rollin’

incubating duck eggs

Duck eggs on 26th day of incubation. Egg turner and tray are removed and hatching tray inserted.

This morning I woke up a little earlier to check on the duck eggs in the incubator.  I couldn’t help worrying. Yesterday, only one had made an internal pip. The other eggs’ air sacs look still too small for this stage of their development. Perhaps there is too much water retention in the developing chick. Some people believe this puts too much strain on their hearts while they struggle to hatch and they could die of heart failure.

This morning I was relieved to see that the air sacs of a few more eggs have suddenly got much bigger!  I also saw a beak moving in the air sac of a 2nd egg – another successful internal pip! Putting the egg close to my ear I could hear a faint clicking noise – supposedly the sound of the duck breathing air rhythmically while lying in a cramped position with its head bent under its wing.

duck egg development chart

Duck egg development chart – from Wildliferehabber.com

While candling them, I was careful not to have the eggs out of the incubator for more than a couple of minutes, so I didn’t check all of them in great detail – just for signs of progress. I am just happy to know more than 1 egg has got to the internal pip stage. I just hope they don’t all die before they hatch – reading all the horror stories on the forums doesn’t help!!

The first egg that internally pipped yesterday should do an external pip within 24 hours. However, I don’t see any holes or cracks yet in the shell – although I could swear I saw it rocking a little in the incubator just now 🙂

Leave a Reply

